Melaka BN Candidates

- Advertisement -

Melaka Barisan Nasional (BN) will be fielding 13 new faces, three for parliamentary seats and 10 for state seats in the 14th General Election (GE14).

All the new candidates possess high academic qualifications and are professionals, with the youngest candidate only 31-years-old.

The announcement of the state BN’s 34 candidates, including 24 for state seats, was made by Melaka BN chairman Datuk Seri Idris Haron at his official residence in Seri Bendahara, on Monday.

Idris will be defending his Sungai Udang state seat while Puteri Umno chief Datuk Mas Emieyati Samsuddin would also defend her Masjid Tanah parliamentary seat.

Former Melaka chief minister Tan Sri Mohd Ali Rustam was re-nominated to contest in Hang Tuah Jaya. The seat was previously known as Bukit Katil prior to the redelineation of electoral boundaries and was the parliamentary seat where Ali had lost by a 5,447 vote majority in the 13th General Election.

Meanwhile, Deputy Science, Technology and Innovation Minister Datuk Dr Abu Bakar Mohamad Diah switched from the Tangga Batu parliamentary seat to Paya Rumput state seat. Melaka Umno Youth chief Datuk Zali Mat Yasin will be fielded in his place.

Melaka MCA chairman Lim Ban Hong will defend the Klebang state seat, while Melaka MIC secretary Datuk P. Panirchelvam would be fielded at the Gadek state seat to replace former Melaka MIC chairman Datuk MS Mahadevan, whose name was dropped from the state list for GE14.

Melaka has 28 state and six parliamentary constituencies, all of which are being contested by BN in GE14. In the last general election, BN won 21 state and four parliamentary seats.

At the same event, Idris also announced that Bukit Katil MCA division chief Datuk Koh Nai Kwang will move from the Alor Gajah parliamentary constituency to the Machap Jaya state seat, with his former place taken over by the Prime Minister’s political secretary, Wong Nai Chee.

Wong is a comeback candidate and in GE11, defeated DAP candidate Kerk Kim Hock for the Kota Melaka seat, but in GE12, lost to DAP’s Sim Tong Him.

Melaka Umno deputy chairman Datuk Seri Ahmad Hamzah will defend his Jasin parliamentary seat for a third term, while the Kota Melaka parliamentary seat will be contested by MCA Youth and Young Professionals Bureau chairman Choo Wei Sern, who is a new face.

Melaka Gerakan chairman Datuk Chua Lian Chye has been re-nominated to contest in the Pengkalan Batu state seat, formerly known as Bachang before the redelineation of electoral boundaries, while MCA candidate Datuk Ng Choon Koon will move from the Bemban state seat to the Kesidang state seat.

Full list of Melaka BN candidates:

  • P134 – Masjid Tanah – Datuk Mas Ermieyati Samsudin (UMNO)
  • N01 – Kuala Linggi – Datuk Ismail Othman (UMNO)
  • N02 – Tanjung Bidara – Datuk Md Rawi Mahmud (UMNO)
  • N03 – Ayer Limau – Datuk Amirudin Yusop (UMNO)
  • N04 – Lendu – Sulaiman Md Ali (UMNO)
  • N05 – Taboh Naning – Datuk Latipah Omar (UMNO)
  • P135 – Alor Gajah – Wong Nai Chee (MCA)
  • N06 – Rembia – Datuk Norpipah Abdol (UMNO)
  • N07 – Gadek – P Panirchelvam (MIC)
  • N08 – Machap Jaya (Machap) – Koh Nai Kwong (MCA)
  • N09 – Durian Tunggal – Datuk Ab Wahab Ab Latip (UMNO)
  • N10 – Asahan – Datuk Abdul Ghafar Atan (UMNO)
  • P136 – Tangga Batu – Datuk Zali Mat Yassin (UMNO)
  • N11 – Sungai Udang – Datuk Seri Idris Haron (UMNO)
  • N12 – Pantai Kundor – Nor Azman Hassan (UMNO)
  • N13 – Paya Rumput – Datuk Dr Abu Bakar Mohamad Diah (UMNO)
  • N.14 – Kelebang – Datuk Lim Ban Hong (MCA)
  • P137 – Hang Tuah Jaya (Bukit Katil) – Tan Sri Mohd Ali Rustam (UMNO)
  • N15 – Pengkalan Batu (Bachang) – Chua Lian Chye (Gerakan)
  • N16 – Ayer Keroh – Chua Kheng Hwa (MCA)
  • N17 – Bukit Katil (Bukit Baru) – Yunus HItam (UMNO)
  • N18 – Ayer Molek – Rahmad Mariman (UMNO)
  • P138 – Kota Melaka – Choo Wei Sern (MCA)
  • N19 – Kesidang – Ng Choon Koon (MCA)
  • N20 – Kota Laksamana – Melvin Chua Kew Wei (MCA)
  • N21 – Duyong – Lee Kiat Lee (MCA)
  • N22 – Bandar Hilir – Lee Chong Leng (MCA)
  • N23 – Telok Mas – Abdul Razak Abdul Rahman (UMNO)
  • P139 – Jasin – Datuk Seri Ahmad Hamzah (UMNO)
  • N24 – Bemban – Koh Chin Han (MCA)
  • N25 – Rim – Datuk Ghazale Muhamad (UMNO)
  • N26 – Serkam – Datuk Zaidi Atan (UMNO)
  • N27 – Merlimau – Datuk Roslan Ahmad (UMNO)
  • N28 – Sungai Rambai – Datuk Hasan Abd Rahman (UMNO)