Nine Branch Heads in Pekan, 13 GE14 Candidates from Bersatu Quit Party

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

The heads of nine Bersatu branches in Pekan have quit the party today, taking together with them 700 members to back former prime minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

These branches are Kampung Mengkasar, Bandar Pekan, Ketapang, Sg Miang, Merchong, Chini 1, Chini 2, Chini 4 and Chini 5.

Kg Mengkasar branch head Raja Khairuddin Raja Abdullah said eight out of 10 elected committee members of the division have also quit the party.

He said with this announcement, only the Nenasi, Chini 3 and Serandu branch heads are still with the party.

“This decision, with immediate effect, is made voluntarily and without any coercion. We will follow the direction of former Pekan Bersatu division deputy head Tengku Datuk Zainul Hisham Tengku Hussin of giving full support to Dr Mahathir,” he said at a press conference today.

Also present was Tengku Zainul Hisham who lost his Bersatu membership after contesting as an independent in the Chini by-election on July 4.

Tengku Zainul Hisham said he and those who quit the party today will be joining Parti Pejuang Tanah Air (Pejuang), newly established by Dr Mahathir.

Meanwhile, 13 members of Bersatu who contested in the 14th general election (GE14) today announced their resignation from the party.

The group was led by Datuk Dr Mohd Faudzi Musa, the Bersatu candidate for the Setiu parliamentary seat in GE14.


The other former parliamentary candidates who quit were Azran Deraman (Jeli, Kelantan), Datuk Wan Nazari Wan Jusoh (Besut, Terengganu), Professor Dr Salihuddin Radin Sumadi (Pasir Salak, Perak), Mohamad Rafidee Hassim (Kuala Krau, Pahang), Norliza Ngadiman (Penggerang, Johor), Datuk Khairil Anuar Akhiruddin (Larut, Perak), Mohd Nor Hussin (Gua Musang, Kelantan), and Amirul Fairuzzeen Jamaluddin (Lenggong, Perak).

The other four members who resigned were candidates for state seats — Dr Che Ku Hashim Che Ku Mat (Kuala Besut, Terengganu), Kapten Wan Marzudi Wan Omar (Semerak, Kelantan), Dr Wan Zulkhairi Wan Md Zain (Tendong, Kelantan) and Afif Syairol Abdul Rahim (Bebar, Pahang).

Dr Mohd Faudzi told a media conference in Putrajaya today that they would not be joining any political party for now.