Six New Faces in BN FT Lineup

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

Federal Territories Barisan Nasional has unveiled its list of candidates and adopt a ‘3R’ strategy for Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan.

The 3R strategy is to retain (seats won), regain (lost seats) and reduce (losing majorities) during GE14.

FT Barisan chairman Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor announced the list on Sunday (April 22), which saw one incumbent MP from Kuala Lumpur dropped and six new faces in the line-up.

Asyraf Hamzah

The candidate dropped is Setiawangsa MP Datuk Ahmad Fauzi Zahari, who was replaced by his predecessor and former Setiawangsa MP Tan Sri Zulhasnan Rafique.

Wangsa Maju Umno chief Datuk Seri Dr Mohd Shafei Abdullah was also excluded from the GE14 line-up and replaced by Wangsa Maju MCA chief Datuk Seri Yew Teong Look.

The three hot seats are Titiwangsa, Lembah Pantai and Putrajaya.

These will be contested by incumbent Titiwangsa MP Datuk Seri Johari Ghani, former Federal Territories minister Datuk Seri Raja Nong Chik Raja Zainal Abidin and incumbent Putrajaya MP Tengku Adnan.

Gerakan vice-president Datuk Dr Dominic Lau will contest Batu while incumbent Labuan MP Datuk Rozman Isli is retained for the seat.

Other candidates announced include newbie Adnan Seman, who will be contesting in Bandar Tun Razak, which was previously an MCA seat.

Kepong Gerakan parliamentary coordinator Ong Siang Liang is another newcomer and will contest in Kepong.

MyPPP vice-president Datuk Loga Bala Mohan will take on Segambut, which was previously a Gerakan seat.

Three women candidates were announced for the Bukit Bintang, Cheras and Seputeh seats.

They will be contested by Bukit Bintang Wanita MCA chief Ann Tan Ean Ean, Cheras Wanita MCA chief Heng Sinn Yee and Seputeh MCA assistant secretary Chan Quin Er. 

The full list

  1. Seputeh – Chan Quin Er (MCA)
  2. Setiawangsa – Tan Sri Zulhasnan Rafique (Umno)
  3. Segambut – Datuk Loga Bala Mohan (MyPPP)
  4. Kepong – Ong Siang Liang (Gerakan)
  5. Cheras – Heng Sinn Yee (MCA)
  6. Bukit Bintang – Ann Tan Ean Ean (MCA)
  7. Wangsa Maju – Datuk Seri Yew Teong Look (MCA)
  8. Titiwangsa – Datuk Seri Johari Ghani (Umno)
  9. Lembah Pantai – Datuk Seri Raja Nong Chik Raja Zainal Abidin (Umno)
  10. Batu – Datuk Dr Dominic Lau (Gerakan)
  11. Bandar Tun Razak – Adnan Seman (Umno)
  12. Putrajaya – Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor (Umno)
  13. Labuan – Datuk Rozman Isli (Umno)

– The Star