Muda candidates named, confirms pact with PH

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

The Malaysian United Democratic Alliance (Muda) has announced three of several candidates who will be contesting in parliamentary seats in the 15th General Election (GE15).

The announcement was made by its secretary-general Amira Aisya Abd Aziz.

She confirmed that negotiations with Pakatan Harapan have concluded, and that Muda and Pakatan have formed a clear electoral alliance for GE15.

The three points they have agreed are that Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim is Pakatan’s candidate for prime minister, Muda and Pakatan component parties will not face off in the same seats, and that Muda will use its own flag and logo for GE15.

The three candidates are Danial Abdul Majeed, Siti Rahayu Baharin and Lim Wei Jiet.

Danial, who is from Penang, will be contesting at Kepala Batas and is expected to clash with Umno’s Datuk Seri Reezal Merican Naina Merican.

“I believe that the people of Kepala Batas should be given opportunities and space to prosper,” he said yesterday.

Siti Rahayu, popularly known as Cikgu Rahayu, will be contesting in Tanjung Karang, possibly against Umno’s Tan Sri Noh Omar.

A teacher and education activist of over 10 years, she said she found out that throughout her tenure at Buku Jalanan Chow Kit, a not-for-profit organisation which provides education assistance to underprivileged children in Chow Kit, Kuala Lumpur, there was no equality.

Lim, a lawyer, will be vying for Tanjung Piai, a seat held by MCA’s Datuk Seri Dr Wee Jeck Seng.

“It is a challenging seat but one we must take back,” he said.

The Muda leadership said it would be announcing more candidates in the coming days.

“Muda is not only contesting three seats. There are several other seats we will announce later on, but something that I can say is that all these seats are ones in which gigantic battles will happen.

“We will see in GE15 that Muda will go up against ministers,” Amira said.

The seats that Muda will be contesting are not in any cities and are considered “hard” seats to win as their incumbent MPs are well-known figures, she added.