Sabah Election: BN, PN, PBS at Odds; Set to Clash over 11 Seats

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

Barisan Nasional (BN), Perikatan Nasional (PN) and Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) will clash over 11 state seats in the upcoming Sabah election.

Azneal Ishak/Malaysiakini

Up to 84 candidates representing BN, PN and PBS will contest 73 state seats in the Sept 26 poll.

BN has fielded the most number of candidates for 40 states seats: Umno (31), Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS) (five) and MCA (four).

PN will contest 29 seats: Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) (19), Parti Solidariti Tanah Airku (Star) (eight) and Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) (two).

PBS, which is the sole Sabah-based party supporting PN, is vying for 15 state seats and will see the most head-to-head contests with other parties.

Among them are Umno’s Bengkoka, Tanjung Aru and Telupid seats; PBRS’ Matunggong, Tandek and Kadamaian; and MCA’s Kapayan and Karamunting seats.

Meanwhile, Umno will duke it out with Star in Paginatan; while PBRS will meet Star’s candidates in Sook and Tulid.

State Bersatu liaison chief Datuk Hajiji Noor had said such overlaps should not occur and have to be resolved before nomination day tomorrow.

During a press conference announcing PN’s candidates, Hajiji said the main objective for the coalition is to topple the government led by Parti Warisan Sabah.

“If there are clashes, one of the candidates, whether from PN or BN, should pull out. But there is still time to discuss this before nomination day,” he added.

Sabah MCA liaison chairman Lu Yen Tung, meanwhile, said the party is aware of the possible conflict with PBS in the state election.

MCA and PBS will compete for the Kapayan and Karamunting state seats.

“We had a meeting with other parties such as PBS, PBRS, Umno and others last week.

“We have discussed and stated that seats such as Kapayan are MCA’s traditional seats, but PBS insisted on fielding their candidates,” he said when contacted, adding that they will try their best to win all four seats, including Elopura and Likas. – NST