Sabah’s Two CMs: Both Sworn In, One Yet to Resign

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

Musa insists he’s still CM even as Shafie is sworn in.

Jabatan Penerangan

Parti Warisan Sabah president Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal was sworn in as Sabah Chief Minister at 9.30pm today (May 12) by the Yang di-Pertua Negeri Tun Juhar Mahiruddin at the Istana Negeri.

Jabatan Penerangan

His swearing in took place less than 48 hours after Tan Sri Musa Aman was sworn in as Chief Minister.

The swearing in of Shafie as Chief Minister might trigger a legal constitutional battle as it appears Sabah has two chief ministers.

At 7pm, Musa had issued a statement that he had not resigned as Chief Minister.


“Let me put it on record that neither I nor my members of Cabinet have resigned. In fact, I just chaired the first State Cabinet meeting after the just concluded general election,” he said.

Sabah Chief Minister’s Office

At 8pm, reporters arriving at Seri Gaya, the official residence of the Chief Minister, were not allowed to approach the house. Police on guard there said that Musa’s staff were “packing up”.

Five minutes later, Musa was seen leaving the residence in his official car accompanied by a motorcade.

When questioned, the guard on duty said Musa was not going to Istana Negeri and was possibly headed to his private residence.

At 8.30pm, police guarding Sri Gaya confirmed that the house was vacant.

In another development, Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS) announced last night that it has left Barisan Nasional (BN) – the third party to do so – and hoped to be part of Pakatan Harapan (PH).

In total, members from three parties – PBRS, United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation (Upko), and the Liberal Democratic Party (LDP) – have left the BN coalition.

PBRS president Joseph Kurup said the party had decided to leave Sabah BN because they feel they would not have been able to serve their constituents if they remained with the coalition.

Lim Huey Teng/Malaysiakini

Kurup also claimed that he has spoken with PH’s top leadership and expressed confidence that PBRS would be welcomed.

Earlier reports:

May 12, Shafie To Be Sworn in As Sabah CM Tonight

May 11, Warisan Now Has 35 Seats, Shafie Asks Musa to Step Down

May 10, Sabahans Calling Jeffrey Kitingan a ‘Traitor’

May 10, Horse Trading in Sabah: Musa Aman Claims Simple Majority

May 10, Sabah Politics in Limbo As Shafie Turned Away from Governor’s Palace