MACC Issued Compound Notices to 80 Individuals, Entities to Recover 1MDB Funds

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

The younger brother of Najib Razak, a property tycoon and a host of events management companies are among individuals and organisations named by the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) as recipients of money from the former prime minister, as the anti-graft body launches a fresh bid to recover money linked to 1MDB.

Nazir Razak, the former chairman of CIMB group, is also joined by two prominent Barisan Nasional leaders, former deputy minister Ahmad Maslan and ex-Felda chairman Shahrir Abdul Samad.


Nazir allegedly received RM25.7 million in cheques.

Others named today are property tycoon Lim Soon Peng of Titijaya Land Bhd, Soong Fui Kiun who headed think tank Centre for Strategic Engagement, Najib’s former political secretary Mohamad Fatmi Che Salleh and academic Sulaiman Aris.

MACC also named more than a dozen Umno divisions nationwide, as well as some 23 companies, many of which are consultancy and events management firms.

Chief commissioner Latheefa Koya said compound notices have been issued to 80 individuals, companies, political party divisions and organisations under Section 92 of the Anti-Money Laundering, Anti-Terrorism Financing and Proceeds of Unlawful Activities Act 2001.

They have been ordered to pay up within two weeks.

Nazir Sufari/TMI

“We hope to recover as much money as possible linked to the sovereign wealth fund,” she said, adding that the anti-graft agency aims to recover a total of RM420 million.

Latheefa said the anti-graft agency will not pursue charges against those who willingly return the money.

The latest action by MACC is different from the civil forfeiture suits filed against 41 parties in June, she said.

“In the previous case, the 41 respondents still have money in their accounts, and we can apply to freeze their accounts.

“These compound notices, meanwhile, are for those we have traced as having received 1MDB money.

“After getting these notices, they will have to pay a fine, with the sum to be that of the amount they received, or 2½ times more.”

She said the individuals received as low as RM500,000 to as high as RM25 million, while the entities received up to RM134 million.

According to Latheefa, the entity that received the highest amount, RM134 million, was Solar Shine Sdn Bhd while for individuals, it was former CIMB chairman Datuk Seri Nazir Tun Razak, who received RM25.7 million.

“It’s up to them to pay the fine, failing which, we will use the full authority of the powers that were given within the act to take the necessary action,” Latheefa said.

Asked whether the list was exhaustive, the MACC chief said: “No and there are more.”

The 80 individuals and companies named by MACC today are as follows:


1. Solar Shine Sdn Bhd

2. Semarak Konsortium Satu Sdn Bhd

3. Zeal Hi-Tech Solutions Sdn Bhd

4. Media Link Direct

5. Red Bag Industry Sdn Bhd

6. Centre for Strategic Engagement Sdn Bhd

7. Theora Niaga

8. Transformasi Kreatif

9. Cape Glory Sdn Bhd

10. Warisan Research PLT

11. Vital Spire Sdn Bhd

12. Qalif Umar Creative

13. Alpha Theora Sdn Bhd

14. Mashi Publications Sdn Bhd

15. Decision Advisors (M) Sdn Bhd

16. D’Khairan Sdn Bhd

17. Angeliva Corporation Sdn Bhd

18. Institut Terjemahan & Buku Malaysia Bhd

19. Fanisa Consultancy & Services

20. Airmarine (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd

21. Virtual Palace Sdn Bhd

22. Salt Media Consultancy Sdn Bhd

23. Cense Media Sdn Bhd


1. Mohd Nazir Abdul Razak

2. Mustafa Osman

3. Hanafi Mamat

4. Soong Fui Kiun

5. Lim Soon Peng

6. Mohamad Fatmi Che Salleh

7. Ahmad Maslan

8. Sulaiman Aris

9. Shahrir Abdul Samad

Political parties

1. Pergerakan Puteri Umno Malaysia

2. Pergerakan Wanita Umno Selangor

3. Puteri Umno Negeri Selangor

4. Umno Bahagian Sepang

5. Umno Bahagian Tun Razak

6. Umno Bahagian Batu

7. Umno Bahagian Johor Bahru

8. Umno Bahagian Labis

9. Umno Bahagian Bakri

10. Umno Bahagian Kuantan

11. Umno Bahagian Indera Mahkota

12. Wanita Umno Bahagian Pekan

13. Pergerakan Pemuda Umno Pekan

14. Umno Bahagian Jerantut

15. Umno Bahagian Maran

16. Umno Bahagian Lipis

17. Badan Perhubungan Umno Negeri Perak

18. Umno Bahagian Taiping

19. Umno Bahagian Bagan Serai

20. Badan Perhubungan Umno Negeri Pulau Pinang

21. Umno Bahagian Batu Kawan

22. Badan Perhubungan Wanita Umno Sabah

23. Umno Bahagian Machang

24. Barisan Nasional Negeri Selangor

25. Wanita Barisan Nasional Selangor

26. Barisan Nasional Bahagian Bandar Tun Razak

27. Barisan Nasional Parlimen Maran

28. Pusat Khidmat BN Parlimen Taiping

29. MIC Headquarters

30. Malaysian India Congress

31. Puteri MIC

32. Indian Progressive Front Baling

33. MIC Kedah State Liaison Committee

34. MCA Selangor Liaison Committee

35. MCA Kedah State Liaison Committee

36. Pusat Khidmat Ahli Parlimen Ulu Selangor

37. Pusat Khidmat Wakil Rakyat Parlimen Pulai

38. Pusat Penyelaras Bahagian Teluk Intan

39. Pejabat Khidmat Masyarakat Parlimen Negeri Terengganu

40. Parti Rakyat Sarawak

41. Parti Gerakan Rakyat Malaysia Negeri Kedah

42. People’s Progressive Party Negeri Kedah

43. PPP Wilayah Persekutuan


1. Mascom Communications

2. Koperasi Belia 1Malaysia Wilayah Persekutuan Bhd

3. IPF Building Fund

4. Badan Rekreasi dan Komuniti Pengerang

5. PG Research Division