Batu sees a whopping 10 candidates, including Tian Chua, Prabakaran, Siti Kasim, Cleopatra

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

The Batu parliamentary seat will see a colourful contest with 10 candidates vying for the seat in the capital city, with six political parties and four independent candidates involved.

Firdaus Latif

In the intense fight in the 15th general election, key contenders include incumbent MP P Prabakaran from Pakatan Harapan (PH), and his fellow PKR member and former mentor Tian Chua who has decided to contest independently without quitting PKR.

Nazir Sufari/TMI

Chua served as the Batu MP for two terms between 2008 and 2018 and secured both victories under the PKR ticket.

Also in the bid for Batu are Barisan Nasional’s Datuk A Kohilan Pillay from MIC, Perikatan Nasional’s Azhar Yahya from PAS, Parti Pejuang Tanah Air’s Wan Azliana Wan Adnan, Parti Warisan Sabah’s P Naganathan, and Parti Rakyat Malaysia’s Zulkifli Abd Fatah.

MIC vice-president Kohilan is making his first foray in Batu despite contentions from another BN component party, MCA, that previously wanted the seat.

The three other independent candidates are lawyer and activist Siti Kasim, influencer Nur Fathiah Syazwana who is better known as Cleopatra and Too Cheng Huat.

Firebrand human rights activist Siti Zabedah Kasim was among the first to join the fray.

Firdaus Latif

Siti was among those who arrived early to the nomination centre.


Along with her supporters from the Orang Asli community, she was dressed in black and wore an Orang Asli traditional headgear.

Ahmad Johari Mohd Ali

Batu almost became a seat with 11 candidates, but Indian Taxi Group’s SAI Mahendran this morning said he was withdrawing his nomination in indirect support of Chua after he found out Chua was contesting.