BN’s Mohd Zaidi Wins Slim with Thumping Majority

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

Barisan Nasional (BN) has clinched a landslide victory in the Slim by-election today with its candidate Mohd Zaidi Aziz securing 13,060 votes to retain the seat for the coalition.

Azreal Ishak/Malaysiakini

Mohd Zaidi defeated two others with a 10,945 vote-majority.

Independent candidate Amir Khusyairi Mohamad Tanusi, backed by Parti Pejuang Tanah Air (Pejuang), secured 2,115 votes, while the other independent candidate S Santharasekaran obtained 276 votes.

BN also made a clean sweep of all 13 voting districts in the Perak state as well as winning the postal and early votes.

The results were announced by Returning Officer Shamsul Ridzuan Idris at the Tanjung Malim District Council’s Dewan Seri Tanjung, here, tonight.

The Election Commission (EC), in a statement, said voter turnout was 68.4 percent.

Early voting was held last Tuesday, with a turnout of 96.25 percent of 267 voters.

The Slim by-election was called following the death of its incumbent, Datuk Mohd Khusairi Abdul Talib who died on July 15, due to a heart attack.

During the 14th General Election (GE14), Mohd Khusairi who represented BN retained the Slim state seat with a majority of 2,183 votes defeating Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) which was represented by Mohd Amran Ibrahim from PKR and Pas candidate, Muhammad Zulfadli Zainal.

To continue with Mohd Khusairi’s legacy for the people of Slim, the BN fielded Mohd Zaidi who is also acting Tanjung Malim Umno division chief.

The Slim by-election also saw former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad who recently formed a new party called Pejuang, announcing that the party would be backing Amir Khusyairi, a 38-year-old lawyer. – NST