Damansara Parliamentary Seat Records Biggest Majority

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

The 14th general election (GE14) which has just concluded saw the Damansara parliamentary seat creating history when it recorded the highest majority nationwide with 106,903 votes.

The winner (Damansara used to be known as Petaling Jaya Utara) Tony Pua of Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) won 121, 283 votes compared to Ho Kwok Xheng Barisan Nasional (BN) who received only 14,380 votes.

Another candidate, Wong Mun Kheng (PRM) got 617 votes.

The Damansara parliamentary seat is also the seat with the most number of registered voters, at 146,322 after the re-delineation exercise of the constituencies was approved by Dewan Rakyat last March.

The smallest majority vote was recorded in the Tasek Gelugor Parliamentary seat in Penang. Its incumbent Datuk Shabudin Yahaya was only able to defend the seat with 81 majority votes after winning 18,547 votes.

His challenger Marzuki Yahaya (PKR-Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia) (PPBM) and Rizal Hafiz Ruslan (PAS) each received 18,466 and 14,891 votes respectively.

Shabudin’s performance this time was far different from that in GE13 where he won a 3,042-vote majority in a three-cornered fight.