DAP announces four more candidates for Johor polls

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

Chen Kah Eng, Liow Cai Tung, Ng Yak Howe and Yeo Tung Siong.

DAP has announced two more party candidates to contest under the Pakatan Harapan (PH) ticket in the Johor election on March 12.

They are Andrew Chen Kah Eng and Liow Cai Tung, who are incumbents for the Stulang and Johor Jaya state seats respectively.

DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng said Chen was selected to give him a chance to continue serving in Stulang while Liow was a young woman driven to serve the people.

In the 14th general election (GE14), Chen won the Stulang state seat by defeating Ang Boon Heng of Barisan Nasional (BN) with a majority of 12,470 votes while Liow beat Tan Cher Puk (BN) with a majority of 15,565 votes.

Meanwhile, two DAP dissidents have been announced as candidates in the upcoming Johor state elections in keeping with an agreement reached between the party’s state chapter factions and its national leadership.

Lim announced that incumbent Ng Yak Howe will defend the Bentayan seat while Yeo Tung Siong will contest again the Pekan Nanas seat.

Ng first contested in Bentayan in 2018 while Yeo has held the seat since 2013.

“The Johor elections are more important than any other state elections that had taken place. This is an election that will determine the future of the people,” Lim said.

“This election is not just about the candidates, it is also not about the parties, it is about the people.

“(These candidates) will give us a better chance to win.”

Ng and Yeo are among five DAP assemblymen who allegedly are at loggerheads with the party’s Johor leadership.

All five are alleged to be part of a Johor DAP faction that is against state party chief Liew, his deputy Teo and Bakri MP Yeo Bee Yin.

The other three are Tan Hong Pin (Skudai), Ee Chin Li (Tangkak) and Cheo Yee How (Perling).

Last week, it was reported that three of the five incumbents – Ng, Ee and Yeo Tung Siong – will be fielded again in their respective seats for the Johor polls.

Two others – Tan and Cheo – will be dropped. Tan, however, will be fielded in the next general election in the parliamentary constituency of Labis.