Most of Klang Valley under EMCO from 3-16 July with curfew after 8pm

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

The rules for enhanced MCO in these parts are mostly the same as the current “total lockdown” rules.

The exceptions are as follows:

  1. Only one person is allowed to leave the house for necessities.
  2. Only factories producing basic necessities – food, masks and medicine – are allowed to operate.
  3. Enhanced MCO areas will be subjected to “targeted” Covid-19 tests.
  4. Entry points into enhanced MCO areas will be guarded by the police.

These rules will be imposed from July 3 until July 16.

This will affect 34 subdistricts in Selangor, including Cheras, Kajang, Klang and Setapak. A total of 14 localities in Kuala Lumpur will also be affected (see list below).

According to Senior Minister (security cluster) Ismail Sabri Yaakob, essential services – food, transport, medicine, markets, petrol stations, grocery stores – are allowed to operate. There was no specific mention of the courts.

He said further details would be released on the National Security Council website.

Ismail said the decision was made by the National Security Council today in view of the fact that new cases in Selangor were in the “1,800 to 1,900” range, while in Kuala Lumpur it was between “600 to 1,000”.

The actual seven-day average for Selangor is 2,359 while in Kuala Lumpur it is 781.

“The R-naught number for two regions was around 1.00 and is now showing a decline. This situation is a concern in view of the population density and the spread of three Covid-19 variants – Beta, Delta and Alpha,” he said.

Previously, the government had allowed factories essential to the global supply chain, among others, to remain operational during the “total lockdown” which began on June 1.

Despite “total lockdown” the workplace clusters have continued to emerge.

June was the deadliest month so far, despite the “total lockdown” with 2,374 deaths, nearly double the number of deaths in May (1,289).

On average, 80 people died every day due to Covid-19 last month, or 3.3 deaths per hour.

The majority of new Covid-19 clusters in Selangor have been attributed to factories.

The list of affected locations is as follows:


Sub-districts in Petaling:

  • Petaling
  • Damansara
  • Sungai Buloh
  • Bukit Raja

Sub-districts in Hulu Langat:

  • Hulu Langat
  • Ampang
  • Cheras
  • Kajang
  • Semenyih
  • Beranang

Sub-districts in Sepang:

  • Dengkil
  • Labu
  • Sepang

Sub-districts in Gombak:

  • Batu
  • Rawang
  • Setapak
  • Hulu Kelang
  • Kuang

Sub-districts in Kuala Langat:

  • Tanjung 12(1)
  • Tanjung 12(2)
  • Teluk Panglima Garang
  • Morib
  • Bandar
  • Jugra
  • Batu

Sub-districts in Klang:

  • Kapar
  • Klang

Sub-districts in Kuala Selangor:

  • Ijok
  • Bestari Jaya
  • Jeram

Sub-districts in Hulu Selangor:

  • Serendah
  • Rasa
  • Ulu Yam
  • Batang Kali



  • Projek Perumahan Rakyat (PPR) Sri Semarak
  • Projek Perumahan Rakyat (PPR) Batu Muda
  • Flat Seksyen 2 Wangsa Maju
  • Flat Seksyen 1 Wangsa Maju
  • Kampung Padang Balang
  • Taman Koperasi Polis (Fasa 1 & 2)
  • Flat Sri Sabah
  • Kampung Puah
  • Projek Perumahan Rakyat (PPR) Kampung Baru Air Panas
  • Flat Desa Pandan (including Baiduri & Delima)
  • Kampung Batu Muda
  • Projek Perumahan Rakyat (PPR) Kerinchi
  • Bandar Baru Sentul
  • Taman Ikan Emas

Areas in Perak, Pahang, Melaka and Sabah have also been placed under EMCO from July 3 to July 16.

The areas in Perak are Latexx Manufacturing Sdn Bhd factory and Latexx village workers’ hostel in Taiping and Latexx 3 factory’s workers’ hostel in Kamunting Aman, Kamunting.

Mukim Kualan Kuantan 1 in Kuantang Pahang and Taman Mewah, Kelemak in Alor Gajah, Melaka, will also be placed under EMCO.

For Sabah, the areas are Kampung Mangga, Nasip Kita and Kampung Kijang, Balung in Tawau, Taman Jaya Diri in Kota Kinabalu, Kampung Lingkodon in Kota Belud, Kampung Pintas Kubu in Beaufort, Kampung Muhibbah in Putatan and Kampung Goshen in Kota Marudu.

Senior Minister (Security) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said there is a stark rise in cases in the areas involved.

“Thus, the localities will be placed under EMCO from July 3 until July 16.

“It will enable screenings and prevent the spread of the virus,” he said in a statement on Thursday (July 1).

Meanwhile, Ismail Sabri said the EMCO at Rumah Panjang Sungai Rassau, Batang Igan in Mukah, Sarawak, and foreign workers’ hostel and Wah Cens Plastic Industries & Metal Sdn Bhd factory in Buloh Kasap, Segamat, Johor, will be extended until July 16.

“The Health Ministry discovered there is still a spread of the virus in the localities.

“Thus, the EMCO will be extended until July 16,” he added.

He also announced that the EMCO at Taman Sri Purnama, in Mukim Padang Pak Amat, Pasir Puteh, Kelantan, will end ahead of schedule at 11.59pm on July 2.

“Initially, the EMCO at the locality was supposed to end on July 3.

“However, 264 screenings have been conducted and 27 positive cases were recorded. There has also been a decline in positive cases and the cluster there is under control,” he said.