Najib’s son Nizar to contest state seat under Pekan

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

Nizar making his electorial debut.

Mohd Nizar Najib was expected to continue the family’s legacy in the Pekan seat in Pahang, held by his father, jailed former premier Najib Abdul Razak, and his grandfather, second prime minister Abdul Razak Hussein, for more than six decades.

However, Umno decided to field the 44-year-old politician in the Peramu Jaya state assembly seat instead.

Nizar, who is making his electoral debut, believes it was done for him to gain experience before moving up the ladder.

“This is for the long term. Politics is dynamic and subject to constant change.


“But we must amass the prerequisite experience before moving to a higher position if given the opportunity,” he told reporters in Kuantan this afternoon.

Both his father and grandfather served as menteris besar of Pahang before becoming prime minister.

Nizar said contesting the Peramu Jaya seat would allow him to learn the intricacies of administration at the state level.

“I believe this exposure would help me mature as an elected representative and become more knowledgeable about administering the state.

“God willing, I am confident this would be of benefit to me in the long run,” he added.

Responding to a question, Nizar said not being fielded as the candidate for Pekan was not an issue, because Peramu Jaya is under the parliamentary constituency.

He pledged to assist Umno’s candidate for Pekan Sh Mohamed Puzi Sh Ali to win the seat against his opponents from Pakatan Harapan and Perikatan Nasional.

Making his electorial debut, Nizar will be among the 27 new faces BN is poised to showcase for Pahang in GE15.

BN’s Pahang state seat candidates:

N.1 Tanah Rata – Wong Yap Wah (MCA)

N.2 Jelai – Datuk Seri Wan Rosdy Wan Ismail (Umno)

N.3 Padang Tengku – Datuk Mustapa Long (Umno)

N.5 Benta – Datuk Seri Mohd Soffi Abdul Razak (Umno)

N.6 Batu Talam – Datuk Abd Aziz Mat Kiram (Umno)

N.7 Tras – Lim Teck Hoe (MCA)

N.8 Dong – Fadzli Mohamad Kamal (Umno)

N.9 Tahan – Faezah Ishak (Umno)

N.10 Damak – Muhamad Fasal Jamlus (Umno)

N.11 Pulau Tawar – Datuk Nazri Ngah (Umno)

N.12 Beserah – Datuk Mustaffar Kamal Ab Hamid (Umno)

N.13 Semambu – Khairul Hisham Omar (Umno)

N.14 Teruntum – Tee Choon Ser (MCA)

N.15 Tanjung Lumpur – Nara @ Nikman Nordin (Umno)

N.16 Inderapura – Datuk Seri Shafik Fauzan Sharif (Umno)

N.17 Sungai Lembing – Datuk Umar Arbain Dollah (Umno)

N.18 Lepar – Datuk Abd Rahim Muda (Umno)

N.19 Panching – Fauziah Abd Wahab (Umno)

N.20 Pulau Manis – Datuk Khairuddin Mahmud (Umno)

N.21 Peramu Jaya – Datuk Mohamad Nizar Mohamad Najib (Umno)

N.22 Bebar – Datuk Mohammad Fakhruddin Mohd Ariff (Umno)

N.23 Chini – Mohd Sharim Md Zain (Umno)

N.24 Luit – Jamaluddin Md Marzuki (Umno)

N.25 Kuala Sentul – Mohd Khairuddin Mohd Ali Hanafiah (Umno)

N.26 Chenor – Saiful Anuar Mokhtar (Umno)

N.27 Jenderak – Datuk Rodzuan Zaaba (Umno)

N.28 Kerdau – Datuk Seri Syed Ibrahim Syed Ahmad (Umno)

N.29 Jengka – Nor Hasmimi Abdul Ghani (Umno)

N.30 Mentakab – Wong Tze Shiang (MCA)

N.31 Lanchang – Datuk Razmi Sudin (Umno)

N.32 Kuala Semantan – Datuk Nor Azmi Mat Ludin (Umno)

N.33 Bilut – Wong Siew Mun (MCA)

N.34 Ketari – Datuk Amizar Abu Adam (Umno)

N.36 Pelangai – Datuk Seri Johari Harun (Umno)

N.37 Guai – Datuk Sabariah Saidin (Umno)

N.38 Triang – Yee Cheng Hwa (MCA)

N.39 Kemayan – Khaizulnizam Mohamad Zuldin (Umno)

N.40 Bukit Ibam – Datin Samsiah Arshad (Umno)

N.41 Muadzam Shah – Razali Kassim (Umno)

N.42 Tioman – Datuk Seri Mohd Johari Hussain (Umno)