New Cabinet with 14 Members After Agong’s Approval

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has let go of the education portfolio today, in order to honour the Pakatan Harapan manifesto and following complaints from the public.

The manifesto, however, does not impose the same restriction on Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail, who currently holds the women’s affairs portfolio.

Pribumi’s first-term Simpang Renggam MP and former academic Maszlee Malik was named education minister.

Dr Mahathir’s 14-member Cabinet following approval by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Muhammad V on Friday (May 18):

  1. Prime Minister – Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad (Pribumi – Langkawi)
  2. Deputy Prime Minister – Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail (PKR – Pandan), who is also Minister of Women and Family Development.
  3. Minister of Finance – Lim Guan Eng (DAP-Bagan)
  4. Defence Minister – Mohamad Sabu (Amanah – Kota Raja)
  5. Home Minister – Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin (Pribumi – Pagoh)
  6. Minister of Economic Affairs – Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali (PKR – Gombak)
  7. Minister of Transport – Anthony Loke Siew Fook (DAP-Seremban)
  8. Minister of Rural Development – Rina Harun (Pribumi – Titiwangsa)
  9. Health Minister – Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad (Amanah – Kuala Selangor)
  10. Minister of Housing and Local Government – Datuk Zuraida Kamaruddin (PKR – Ampang)
  11. Minister of Communications and Multimedia – Gobind Singh Deo (DAP-Puchong)
  12. Education Minister – Dr Maszlee Malik (Pribumi – Simpang Renggam)
  13. Minister of Agriculture and Agro-Based Industry – Salahuddin Ayub (Amanah – Pulai)
  14. Human Resource Minister – M Kulasegaran (DAP-Ipoh Barat)

The Yang di-Pertuan Agong had consented to the names and the swearing-in ceremony of the Federal Ministers will be held on Monday (21 May) at 11.30am in Istana Negara, Kuala Lumpur.