PAS Claims Muhyiddin Had 114 MPs Behind Him

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

Bersatu president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin won the race in becoming the 8th Prime Minister by a mere two-vote majority.

The Pagoh Member of Parliament (MP) received 114 votes from his fellow Dewan Rakyat members, said Pas secretary-general Datuk Seri Takiyuddin Hassan.

The Kota Baru MP confirmed the numbers when met with the media as he was leaving Muhyiddin’s residence today.

“This is a majority government – 114 is a majority – with PAS and Gabungan Parti Sarawak contributing to it,” Takiyuddin said.

Until this morning, GPS appeared to be a wild card. The Sarawak coalition has 18 MPs from parties that quit Barisan Nasional after the 14th general election and became independent under the Pakatan Harapan government.

With the 114 MPs mentioned by Takiyuddin, it means GPS had thrown its lot in behind Muhyiddin.

Takiyuddin added that the cooperation of Umno-Pas and Bersatu will form a government and Pas is part of the Muafakat Nasional coalition.

Reportedly, GPS leaders met late into the night yesterday and decided to give their support to Muhyiddin, said Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar.

The Santubong MP said they were forced to have the meeting online as the Agong wanted the respective political parties’ answer on who they wanted as prime minister today.

GPS was scheduled to meet in Kuala Lumpur tomorrow.

“It’s a case of time constraints because the king wants to end the impasse. (So) We had our meeting online and we decided on Muhyiddin,” he said

Wan Junaidi simply said the state coalition had dropped its support for Dr Mahathir because of DAP.