PN Allies Ink Deal on Political Cooperation

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

Two coalitions and four parties have agreed today to officially be part of Perikatan Nasional (PN), formerly an ad hoc arrangement to form a federal government.

The decision was announced in a joint statement by coalitions Barisan Nasional (BN) and Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS), and Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia, PAS, Parti Bersatu Sabah and Parti Solidariti Tanah Airku (STAR).

BN is formed of Umno, MCA, MIC and Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah, while GPS include Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB), Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP), Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) and Progressive Democratic Party.

The MoU aims to ensure there is good administration at the federal and state levels that is inclusive and adheres to international standards, the group said in a joint statement today.

The statement was signed by Bersatu president Muhyiddin, BN chairman Ahmad Zahid Hamidi and PAS president Abdul Hadi Awang.

GPS chairman Abang Johari Openg, PBS president Maximus Johnity Ongkili and Star president Jeffrey Kitingan also signed the statement.

However, the statement does not state whether the six will work towards making PN an official political entity.