Status quo results for state elections

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

PAS retains Terengganu and Kelantan, Kedah remains under PN, while PH retains Penang, Negeri and Selangor.

Terengganu and Kelantan

PAS has managed to form the state governments in Terengganu and Kelantan after obtaining simple majorities in the state elections.

PAS won 17 out of the 32 seats in Terengganu and 23 out of the 45 seats in Kelantan.

Contestants from Perikatan Nasional (PN) contested under the PAS banner in the two states.

Terengganu Umno Liaison Body chairman Datuk Seri Ahmad Said failed to defend the Kijal seat he had held for nine terms.


The former menteri besar of Terengganu lost to PN candidate Senator Datuk Razali Idris, who got a majority of 3,758 votes.

Razali, who is also Terengganu Bersatu chief, garnered 13,403 votes, while Ahmad who has held the seat since 1990, got 9,645 vote


PN won 19 out of 36 seats contested in Kedah.

Caretaker Kedah mentri besar Datuk Seri Muhammad Sanusi Md Nor, representing PN, retained his Jeneri state seat.


Sanusi of PAS won the seat with a 16,050-vote majority after securing 21,823 votes in a straight fight against Datuk Muhamad Khizri Abu Kassim of Barisan Nasional (BN), who garnered only 5,773 votes.

In the 14th General Election, Sanusi won the seat after defeating Mahadzir Abdul Hamid (BN) and Mohd Nazri Abu Jassan (PH) by a 2,455-vote majority.

Meanwhile, Amanah vice-president Datuk Mahfuz Omar lost in Alor Mengkudu to former national footballer Muhamad Radhi Mat Din of PN.

Radhi, who also captained the Kedah team from 1991 to 2000, won by a 10,104-vote majority.

Radhi secured 18,936 votes while Mahfuz, who is Kedah PH chairman, managed 8,832 votes.

Meanwhile, Kedah BN chairman Datuk Seri Mahdzir Khalid failed to defend the Pedu seat, losing to incumbent Mohd Radzi Md Amin from PAS contesting under the PN banner.

Radzi garnered 14,397 votes against Mahdzir’s 8,024 to win by a 6,373-vote majority.

Mahdzir, who was also a former Kedah mentri besar, held the Pedu seat from 2004 to 2013.

Kamarul Ariffin/The Star

In the 15th General Election, Mahdzir also failed to win the Padang Terap parliamentary seat after losing to a PN candidate in a three-cornered fight.


In Penang, the Pakatan Harapan-Barisan Nasional (PH-BN) coalition will form the next government with a two-thirds majority.

Caretaker Chief Minister Chow Kon Yeow said the coalition won a total of 29 seats.

KE Ooi

He said DAP won 19 seats, PKR (seven), Amanah (one) and Barisan Nasional (two seats).

DAP contested 19 seats, PKR (13 seats), Amanah (two seats) and BN (six seats).

Penang has a total of 40 state seats.

It takes 27 seats to form a government with a two-thirds majority.

Chow will be sworn in as the chief minister tomorrow.

Meanwhile, DAP chairman Lim Guan Eng successfully retained the Air Putih state assembly seat for the fourth term.


Lim won by a 7,923-vote majority after polling 8,996 votes.

His challenger from PN, Kong Cheng Ann, received 1,073 votes while Parti Rakyat Malaysia candidate Teh Yee Cheu received 437 votes in a three-cornered fight.

Lim who is also the Bagan Member of Parliament has held the Air Putih seat since 2008.

Earlier, PH’s candidate for the Bayan Lepas state seat, Azrul Mahathir Aziz, claimed victory by defeating state PN chairman Datuk Dominic Lau Hoe Chai.

Lau will not relinquish his party post despite losing.

“I believe there is no urgent need for me to step down just because I lost the election.”

Zuhainy Zulkiffli/NST

Some Gerakan members had previously called for him to relinquish his party post if he lost, after “parachuting” himself there.

Former Gerakan secretary-general Datuk Liang Teik Meng, who lost to Lau in the party presidency race, was among those who had called for Lau’s resignation.

State Gerakan chairman Oh Tong Keong said the party accepted its defeat in the 19 seats they contested in.

“The people have made their decision and we accept them.

“Nevertheless, we will not give up. We will continue with our fight for the people.

“We will continue to play our role as a check-and-balance,” he said.

Oh said the voters, particularly the Chinese, still preferred to choose between party lines rather than the candidates.

Besides Gerakan, Bersatu and Pas contested 11 and 10 seats, respectively, in Penang.

Negeri Sembilan

The PH-BN coalition secured Negeri Sembilan with a two-thirds majority win.

DAP secretary-general Anthony Loke defeated his good friend Rosmadi Arif, who is also the PN candidate, to retain the Chennah state seat.

The transport minister won with a majority of 2,200 votes after securing 5,888 votes while Rosmadi had 3,688 votes.


In the 14th general election, Loke, who is also the Seremban Member of Parliament, won the Chennah state seat with a majority of 1,155 votes in a three-cornered fight.

Negri Sembilan PH chairman Datuk Seri Aminuddin Harun successfully defended his Sikamat state seat.

He won with a majority of 2,662 votes, beating PN candidate Ahmad Raihan Muhamad Hilal, who secured 10,068 votes, and two Independent candidates Bujang Abu (83 votes) and Mohammed Hafiz Baharudin (339 votes).

Aminuddin, who is also Port Dickson MP and former Negri Sembilan mentri besar, has held the Sikamat seat since 2008.


His previous victory during the 14th General Election was with a majority of 3,413 votes, against Syamsul Amri Ismail (BN), Rahim Yusof of PAS and Independent candidate Bujang Abu.

Meanwhile, Defence Minister Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan retained his Rantau seat, winning with a 10,280 majority.


The incumbent and also current Rembau MP garnered a total of 16,957 votes against PN’s Rozmal Malakan’s 6,677 votes.

Tok Mat, as he is also known, is a former state mentri besar and has been the incumbent since 2004.


The PH-BN coalition won a total of 34 seats in the Selangor state elections, thus defending their leadership in the state.

PH won 32 seats while BN won two seats.

PN, on the other hand, won 22 seats.

For a simple majority, 29 seats are needed while 37 seats are needed for a two-thirds majority to form the state government.

Caretaker mentri besar Datuk Seri Amirudin Shari (PH-PKR) retained the Sungai Tua seat for a fourth time.

Azhar Mahfof/The Star

He polled 19,678 votes in unofficial results.

Amirudin trounced his closest challenger Hanif Jamaluddin (PN-PAS), with over 5,185-vote majority.

Independent candidate Suman Gopal only secured 430 votes.

Amirudin, 44, who is also Selangor PH chairman, has held the seat since the 12th General Election (GE12).

Meanwhile, Selangor PN chairman Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali won the Hulu Kelang state seat with a majority of 1,617 votes.


He received 25,597 votes to defeat Wanita PKR deputy chief Juwairiya Zulfkifli of PH who obtained 23,980 votes.

In the 14th general election, the Hulu Kelang state seat was won by Saari Sungib of PH with a majority of 15,349 votes to defeat the candidates from Barisan Nasional (BN) and PAS.

PN’s Hilman Idham retained his Gombak Setia seat with a razor-thin majority of 58 votes.

Ong Soon Hin/The Star

He garnered 30,299 votes over BN’s Megat Zulkarnain Omardin who won 30,241 votes, while Independent candidate Mohamed Salim Mohamed Ali received 1,076 votes.

PN took 146 seats while PH won 99 seats in all six states as of midnight Saturday (Aug 12).