Umno to Contest 31 Seats in Sabah Polls

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

Sabah Barisan Nasional (BN) unveiled its line-up of 31 candidates for the upcoming state poll, dropping Tan Sri Musa Aman and opting for Datuk Seri Salleh Said Keruak.

Sabah BN election machinery chief Datuk Bung Mokhtar Radin announced a list of Umno candidates, with 95 percent consisting of new faces.

Among the known names are Sugut assemblyman Datuk James Ratib and Former Kemabong assemblyman Datuk Raimi Unggi.

Bung will contest in Lamag while Salleh will contest in Usukan. The duo are speculated to be among the party’s chief minister candidates if the party and the coalition it leads wins a majority of the 73 seats up for grabs.

Miera Zulyana

The dropping of Musa comes as no great surprise as Musa and the party’s central leadership have been reeling from the fallout after the former’s failed attempt to topple the state government.

Sabah Umno leads the Sabah Barisan Nasional coalition, which includes Sabah MCA and Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah.

Bung announced that MCA and PBRS will make their own separate announcements of their candidates.

Other allies, including Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia, will be announcing its candidates at 3pm, while Parti Solidarity Tanah Airku at a later date.