Wee Ka Siong New MCA President, Nicole Wong First Female Youth Chief

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong has emerged as the new MCA president after securing a landslide victory in a three-cornered fight.


He polled 447 votes to defeat his closest rival Gan Ping Sieu, who obtained 182 votes. The other presidential candidate, Ngoo Teck Keong, however, failed to receive any votes.

Wee, who is also the sole MP from MCA to win his constituency in the GE14, became the party’s 11th president.

His ally, Datuk Dr Mah Hang Soon also won the deputy president’s post after garnering 428 votes against his challenger Datuk Tee Siew Keong, who obtained 201 votes.

In his immediate response to the media, Wee said the result was an endorsement by the delegates for him and Dr Mah to lead the party.

“I thank all delegates who placed their confidence in us and I hope the elected team will display seriousness in taking on their responsibilities with dedication,” he stated.

To a question, the new president said he would be calling for a meeting in the next few days with the team to chart the new direction for the party. Wee also urged all party members to close ranks and work together to rebuild the party.

Wee’s team also made a clean sweep of the four vice-president posts – Datuk Tan Teik Cheng, Datuk Seri Ti Lian Ker, Datuk Lim Ban Hong and Datuk Seri Yew Teong Look.

It was also a thorough victory for Wee’s team when it came to the 25 central committee members’ posts.

Referring to the 66.27% turnout at the party elections, Wee said he was delighted with the spirit shown by the delegates.

Meanwhile, Nicole Wong Siaw Ting created history on Saturday by winning the Youth chief post, becoming the first female to helm the wing.