Work from Home Directive for Management, Supervisory Level Workers in CMCO areas from Oct 22

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

Public and private sector employees at management and supervisory levels in areas currently placed under the Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO), namely Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Selangor, Sabah and Labuan, have been directed to work from home effective Oct 22.

Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Yaakob said this decision was reached at the National Security Council (MKN) special session on the advice of the Ministry of Health (MoH) to restrict the movement of employees as part of efforts to contain the Covid-19 pandemic.

“The Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) has also informed that almost 800,000 industrial sector workers from Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Labuan, Selangor and Sabah will be involved with this directive. The same applies to nearly 200,000 civil servants in those states and territories.


“This is now a directive and no more a request. Employers have been told to issue letters for these employees to work from home,” he said at a press conference on the Recovery Movement Control Order (RMCO) developments today.

MITI will be issuing a media statement on this directive soon, he said.

A list of sectors affected will be issued by MITI.

There will be exceptions for those involved in finance, making payments, enforcement, and welfare.

Ismail said this will reduce one million workers – 800,000 in industrial sectors and 200,000 in public sectors – from going out to work.

Companies will need to issue letters to those who are exempted from the work from home order.

Meanwhile, employees living in red zones who need to go to the office will need to take swab tests.

The Social Security Organisation (Socso) will cover the costs of the swab tests for contributors, Ismail said.

The red zones under CMCO as of yesterday are Petaling, Hulu Langat, Gombak, Klang and Kuala Langat in Selangor, as well as Beaufort, Kota Belud, Kota Kinabalu, Kunak, Lahad Datu, Papar, Putatan, Sandakan, Semporna, Tawau, Ranau, Tuaran, Keningau, Kudat, Tambunan, and Penampang in Sabah.

Ismail said the work from home order will be in force until the CMCO ends.

“However, if CMCO is extended, then the order will also be extended in accordance with the CMCO,” he said.