MACC Investigating Claims of Sabah Reps Being Offered Cash to Defect

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

Sabah Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) is looking into allegations that elected representatives were offered inducement to jump party in an attempt to topple the state government.

State MACC director Karunanithy Subbiah said the graft-buster has contacted several elected representatives believed to be involved in the matter.

“Based on our interaction, the assemblymen refused to make official reports to the MACC on the grounds that there’s no payoff or transaction taking place at this time.


“The Sabah MACC will continue conducting its investigation and ready to receive complaints as well as related information from any party involved,” he told reporters today.

Asked how many elected representatives were involved, Karunanithy did not specify on the number but noted that the investigation was based on a media report.

On Wednesday, several elected representatives from the Parti Warisan Sabah (Warisan)-Sabah Pakatan Harapan-United Progressive Kinabalu Organisation (Upko) attended a surprise press conference held by former chief minister Tan Sri Musa Aman at his residence.

The move was an attempt to take over the state government from Warisan president and Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal.

Musa had claimed in the press conference that he had obtained a simple majority of 33 assemblymen out of the previous composition of the state legislature.

The Sabah state assembly now has 65 state seats, with 60 of those seats for elected representatives and another five seats for those who are appointed. This will be increased to 78 seats, with 73 being contested in the next state polls and the remaining five being appointed.

Among those seen present at Musa’s residence were Warisan elected representatives Datuk Hamisah Samad (Tanjung Batu), Datuk Osman Jamal (Balung), Datuk Bolkiah Ismail (Pitas), Datuk Masiung Banah (Kuamut), Datuk Abd Rahman Kongkawang (Labuk), Datuk Anita Baranting (Tandek), and Datuk Muis Picho (Sebatik).

Five of them were former Umno leaders, who had crossed over to Warisan to support Shafie as Chief Minister after the 14th General Election in 2018, while Masiung was formerly Upko member and Baranting formerly Parti Bersatu Sabah member

Others present were nominated assemblyman Ronnie Loh of Sabah DAP, nominated assemblyman Jaffari William of Sabah PKR, Inanam assemblyman Kenny Chua of Sabah PKR, and Paginatan assemblyman Datuk Abidin Madingkir of Upko. – NST