Exit of Prasarana, MAHB CEOs

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

The new year has seen the departure of two CEOs, one from public transport operator Prasarana Malaysia Bhd and another from airport operator Malaysia Airports Holdings Bhd (MAHB).

Prasarana president and CEO Mohamed Hazlan Mohamed Hussain has been removed from his position following a decision by the government-owned firm’s board of directors.


It was reported that the decision was made on Dec 24 last year due to “public dissatisfaction” over Light Rail Transit (LRT) services, which Prasarana operates.

Among the complaints mentioned were of late notifications of LRT breakdowns.

In the interim, the report said that Hazlan’s role would be filled by Prasarana’s chief operating officer Nizam Alias.

When contacted, an aide of Transport Minister Anthony Loke confirmed that the minister was aware of the decision and stressed that it was made by the company’s board.

Hazlan was appointed to the post in September 2018, replacing Masnizam Hisham.

Prasarana is expected to call a media conference this week.

MAHB boss to ‘pursue other opportunities’

Meanwhile, the new year has seen another departure in the form of Malaysia Airports Holdings Bhd’s (MAHB) group chief executive officer Raja Azmi Raja Nazuddin.

According to a filing in Bursa Malaysia yesterday, his resignation was with immediate effect so that he could “pursue other opportunities”, sans further details.

Raja Azmi’s resignation comes about a year since he assumed the role on Jan 4, 2019.

In the interim, his role will be filled by MAHB’s chief operating officer Mohd Shukrie Mohd Salleh.

According to Transport Minister Anthony Loke, the government had no role in Raja Azmi’s resignation.

When questioned if the government had pressured Raja Azmi to resign, Loke said there was no government pressure.

The appointment of Raja Azmi as group CEO of MAHB was previously announced by Finance Minister Lim Guan Eng. The appointment came after obtaining the approval from Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.