Agong Appoints Muhyiddin as 8th PM

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

Yang di-Pertuang Agong has picked Bersatu president Muhyiddin Yassin as the next prime minister, the palace said in a statement today.

Azneal Ishak/Malaysiakini

Muhyiddin will take the oath of office as the country’s eighth prime minister at Istana Negara tomorrow at 10.30am.

“After getting representation from all leaders representing their respective parties and independent Dewan Rakyat members, in the opinion of his royal highness, the Dewan Rakyat member that is likely to enjoy majority confidence among the Dewan Rakyat members is Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, the Pagoh MP,” Comptroller of the Royal Household Ahmad Fadil Shamsuddin said.

As such, he said the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong has appointed Muhyiddin as prime minister in accordance to Article 40(2)(a) and Article 43(2)(a) of the Federal Constitution.