Anwar retains PKR presidency uncontested, 17 nominations for PKR VP

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

The contest for the PKR vice-presidency has attracted 17 candidates to date.

Leading the list for the four posts are Selangor Menteri Besar and state PKR chairman Amirudin Shari, and Negri Sembilan Menteri Besar and state PKR chairman Aminuddin Harun.

Other candidates include incumbent Chang Lih Kang, PKR communications director and Lembah Pantai MP Ahmad Fahmi Mohamed Fadzil, Wanita PKR chief and Kuantan MP Fuziah Salleh, PKR chief organising secretary and Setiawangsa MP Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad and former Perak PKR chief Farhash Wafa Salvador Rizal Mubarak.

Also in the fray are former Perak PKR deputy chairman MA Tinagaran, Kapar MP Abdullah Sani Abdul Hamid, Alor Setar MP Chan Ming Kai, former Kapar MP G Manivannan and Sentosa assemblyman Dr G Gunaraj.

Five other candidates who have submitted their nomination forms are Terengganu PKR chairman Azan Ismail, former vice-president Mustaffa Kamil Ayub, former vice-head of PKR Youth (AMK) S Thiban, Chuah assemblyman Michael Yek and Bukit Selambau assemblyman R Summugam.

Among the other three incumbent vice-presidents, Tian Chua announced on March 27 that he would not be defending his post, Rafizi Ramli has offered himself for the deputy president’s post and Nurul Izzah Anwar resigned her post in 2018.

PKR Election Committee chairman Zaliha Mustafa told reporters today that the actual number of candidates for top leadership posts would only be known at the close of nominations, by midnight.


Zaliha said Anwar Ibrahim is the sole nominee for president, while Rafizi and secretary-general Saifuddin Nasution Ismail are the only two nominated for the number two post so far.

For the posts of Wanita PKR chief and AMK chief, Zaliha said two nominations have been received for each post.

The nominees for Wanita chief are senator Fadhlina Sidek and Selangor Wanita PKR chief and Batu Tiga assemblyman Rodziah Ismail while the candidates for AMK chief are former university activists Adam Adli Abdul Halim and Fahmi Faizol.

Nominations for PKR divisional elections began on April 8 and ended yesterday, while nominations for MPP posts were held today.

For the first time, the PKR election process is being conducted in a hybrid manner involving physical presence and online filing.

Online voting will be conducted May 18-20, while in-person voting will be held May 13-17.

Zaliha said members who have opted for online voting cannot turn up to vote in person.

Winners of the senior leadership positions will be announced on June 26 at the PKR annual national congress, while those for Wanita and AMK chiefs will be announced on June 24 at their respective annual congresses.