Chow retains Penang DAP chairman post

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

As expected, Penang DAP chairman scored a resounding win for the 2021-2024 term, polling 1,211 votes, at today’s state DAP’s party elections.

The Chief Minister kept the seat he has held since 1999.

Also emerging victorious at today’s elections were two former state vice-chairmen Professor Dr P Ramasamy and Zairil Khir Johari, who polled 826 votes and 920 votes respectively.

Ramasamy came in the ninth spot while Zairil, the fifth spot.

Ramasamy was appointed the deputy chairman, replacing Jagdeep Singh Deo while Zairil retained his position as the vice-chairman.

Joining him as the vice-chairman was Jagdeep.

In the 2018 state party elections, both Ramasamy and Zairil failed to emerge among the top 15 – with just 303 and 328 votes, respectively.

At that time, they were both co-opted by the party and retained their post as vice-chairmen.

RSN Rayer, who was also co-opted by committee members in the last polls, managed to secure 659 votes today, securing the 14th spot.

State DAP assistant treasurer Datuk Danny Law Heng Kiang and committee member Ramkarpal Singh Deo were the only committee members who failed to make it to the top 15 this term.

Law only polled 606 votes while Ramkarpal 575 votes.

However, Ramkarpal was co-opted by the committee and would serve as the committee member in the new term.

Besides Ramkarpal, who is Bukit Gelugor Member of Parliament, Batu Kawan MP Kasthuri Patto also failed to make the cut.

Newly-appointed Pakatan Harapan Wanita chief Chong Eng also did not make it to the top 15 when she only managed 417 votes.

Among the state assemblymen who failed to make it were Pengkalan Kota assemblyman Daniel Gooi Zi Sen, Berapit assemblyman Heng Lee Lee, Sungai Pinang assemblyman Lim Siew Khim and Bagan Dalam assemblyman M Satees.

However, Chong, Lim and Heng were co-opted along with Syerleena Abdul Rashid, who did not contest.

DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng’s sister Lim Hui Ying secured the fourth spot with 980 votes.

Also cracked the top 15 was Ramkarpal’s bother, Jagdeep, who came in 15th spot with 655 votes and brothers Phee Boon Poh and Phee Boon Chee.

Boon Poh polled the second highest vote of 1,041 while Boon Chee, 734 votes.

A total of 44 candidates contested for the top 15 posts in the party.

A total of 1,608 ballot papers were received with 56 spoilt votes.

Meanwhile, in his speech, Chow thanked those who voted for him.

“It is time for the new committee to close ranks and work together to overcome three major crises – public health, economics and political.

“We are in this together as we face the 15th General Election,” he added.

New line-up of the Penang DAP committee

Chairman: Chow Kon Yeow

Deputy chairman: Professor Dr P Ramasamy

Vice-chairmen: Zairil Khir Johari and Jagdeep Singh Deo

Secretary: Lim Hui Ying

Assistant secretary: Lim Siew Khim

Treasurer: Wong Hon Wai

Assistant treasurer: Soon Lip Chee

Organising secretary: H’ng Mooi Lye

Assistant organising secretaries: Lay Hock Peng and Yeoh Soon Hin

Publicity secretary: Sim Chee Keong

Assistant publicity secretary: Syerleena Abdul Rashid

Political education bureau director: Teh Lai Heng

Committee members: Phee Bon Poh, Phee Boon Chee, RSN Rayer, Ramkarpal Singh Deo, Heng Lee Lee and Chong Eng