Covid-19: 1,290 New Cases, 4 Deaths

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

After yesterday’s massive drop, new Covid-19 cases shoot back up to 1,290 with four deaths

Miera Zulyana

Director-General of Health Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah said in a statement that Sabah still has the highest number of new daily Covid-19 cases at 660, with 418 coming from existing clusters, 114 from close contact screenings and 96 from Covid-19 screenings done.

Meanwhile, Selangor tops the highest peninsular states with 407 daily positive Covid-19 cases. Kuala Lumpur too is still registering a high number of Covid-19 new cases with 72.

The remaining states recording new cases are Perak (48), Negri Sembilan (32), Kelantan (17), Labuan and Johor (15), Penang and Sarawak (eight each), Kedah (seven), and Kelantan with one case.

Dr Noor Hisham said 878 patients recovered from the disease, raising the number of recovered cases to 38,132 or 73.8 percent of the total number of 51,680 cases.

He said that 110 Covid-19 patients are being treated in the intensive care unit (ICU), with 37 of them needing breathing assistance.


Four patients, three female and a male, died of Covid-19 today, he said, bringing the death toll to 326.

Dr Noor Hisham said two female patients aged 29 and 47 had died at the Duchess of Kent Hospital and the Lahad Datu Hospital in Sabah. They had a background of chronic kidney disease and diabetes.

A 62-year-old female patient from Johor, who suffered from diabetes, blood pressure, chronic kidney disease and obesity, died at the Enche Besar Hajjah Khalsom Hospital in Kluang.

A 58-year-old male patient from Perak died at the Raja Permaisuri Bainun Hospital. He had a history of diabetes, high blood pressure, chronic kidney disease and dysplemia.

Dr Noor Hisham announced the detection of four new clusters – Kapas BJ in Selangor; Prestij in Kuala Lumpur; Bah Bercham in Perak and Kaimbang in Johor – taking the number of active clusters being monitored to 165.

He also said that six clusters were declared ended today, namely Umboo, Bah Mutiara, Khazanah, Jalan Pantai, Bah Bangat and Bah Kasturi, bringing the number of clusters declared ended to 154.