Defying Dr M, 30 Bersatu Leaders Insist Party Has Left PH

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

The Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) supreme council today reiterated that it had decided to leave Pakatan Harapan (PH) on Feb 23.

A joint statement by 20 supreme council members and ten state party chiefs said that they decided to forge a new political alliance with other parties outside of PH.

“This decision is clear and should not be disputed.

“We also fully support the formation of Perikatan Nasional as an alliance of political parties with the aim and goal as depicted in the memorandum of understanding of Perikatan Nasional.

“For the people’s well-being and the nation’s political stability, we agree for Bersatu to join Perikatan Nasional.

“We also fully support the Perikatan Nasional government led by Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, who is Bersatu president,” said in the statement endorsed by them.

Among the 20 supreme council members who endorsed the statement are Bersatu vice-presidents Tan Sri Abdul Rashid Abdul Rahman and Datuk Abdul Rashid Asari; Srikandi chief Datuk Seri Rina Mohd Harun; party secretary-general Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainudin; treasurer-general Datuk Mohamed Salleh Bajuri; information chief Dr Radzi Jidin; and members Wan Mohd Shahrir Wan Abd Jalil, who is also Pahang state chief; Datuk Seri Ahmad Faizal Azumu, who is also Perak chief; and Datuk Seri Mohd Redzuan Md Yusof, who is also Malacca chief.

The other state chiefs are Tan Sri Dr Rais Yatim (Negeri Sembilan), Datuk Kamarudin Md Nor (Kelantan), Datuk Seri Hajiji Hj Nor (Sabah), Datuk Razali Idris (Terengganu), Mazlan Bujang (Johor), Capt (Rtd) Muhammad Suhaimi Yahya (Federal Territory) and Jaziri Alkaf A Suffian (Sarawak).

Besides Dr Mahathir, among those missing in the statements were his son and vice-president Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir, Youth wing chief Syed Saddiq Abdul Rahman, ousted secretary-general Datuk Marzuki Yahya, and Datuk A Kadir Jasin.