Five Senators Appointed as One Minister, Four Deputy Ministers

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

From newly-minted senators to brand new ministers.

Five newly-appointed senators have been made a minister and four deputy ministers.

The five are P Waythamoorthy as Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (National Unity and Social Well-being); Liew Chin Tong as Deputy Defence Minister; Dr Mohd Radzi Md Jidin as Deputy Economic Affairs Minister; Datuk Raja Kamarul Bahrin Raja Ahmad as Deputy Housing and Local Government Minister as well as Marzuki Yahya as Deputy Foreign Affairs Minister.

A total of eight new Senators were sworn in at 2pm at the Dewan Negara on Tuesday (July 17).

Azneal Ishak

When approached by reporters after taking his oath of office at the Senate, Liew said he was headed to the Istana Negara for the next ceremony there which is expected to be held at 5.30pm.



Earlier reports:

Jul 17, Chin Tong, Waythamoorthy, Raja Bahrin Among Senators to be Sworn In

Jul 7, Liew Chin Tong Tipped for Deputy Defence Minister Post