Najib: Name the BN MPs who claim to support PM, govt

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

A press statement purportedly by Barisan MPs has surfaced, declaring support for the PN government.

Najib Razak is calling for a list of Barisan Nasional (BN) MPs who will continue to back the prime minister following the release of a statement purportedly by the coalition’s parliamentarians.

The joint statement, which did not come with the usual Barisan letterhead and a signature, claimed to represent “all BN MPs” and that they “all” agreed to support Muhyiddin Yassin as prime minister.

On Wednesday night, Umno president Ahmad Zahid Hamidi announced that the party had decided to officially withdraw its support for Muhyiddin Yassin as the prime minister. They also called for him to resign.

However, according to the statement that was confirmed authentic by an aide to new deputy prime minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob, the MPs from BN would not only continue to support Muhyiddin but the Perikatan Nasional-led government as well.

These MPs supposedly said this was to prioritise the immediate needs of the people.

“In a situation where the country is facing a health and economic crisis, the survival of the people is far more important than chess (games) between political parties,” the unsigned statement read.

But Najib, who is Pekan MP, said he has no intention of going against the directive by the Umno Supreme Council.


“Who has the full list of MPs mentioned in this statement?” the former prime minister asked in a Facebook post.

The former prime minister said he would know every BN parliamentarian as he had signed their nomination papers in the last general election (GE14).

“So please furnish the names.”

Yesterday evening, Najib said Umno and BN MPs who continued to support Muhyiddin would “face the consequences” for not toeing the line in the next polls.