BN Wins Semenyih with 2,061 Majority

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

With 100 out of 120 ballot boxes counted, Election Commission (EC) declares Barisan Nasional’s Zakaria Hanafi, 58, as the winner in Semenyih by-election with 16,756 votes.


Zakaria won by a majority of 2,061 votes ahead of Pakatan Harapan’s Muhammad Aiman, 30, who picked up 14,695 votes.

Parti Sosialis Malaysia’s Nik Aziz Afiq Abdul and Independent candidate Kuan Chee Heng both got less than 700 votes each, which means both are likely to lose their deposits.

At 8.12pm, the Election Commission (EC) confirmed that voter turnout for the by-election was 73.3%, surpassing its initial target of 70%.

In GE14, Bakhtiar won a four-cornered fight against Barisan’s Datuk Johan Abd Aziz, PAS’ Mad Shahmiour Mat Kosim and PSM’s S Arutchelvan by a majority of 8,964 votes.

The Semenyih polls is the sixth by-election post-GE14, and the second to be held in 2019 after Cameron Highlands.

It is also the fourth by-election for the Selangor state assembly, following Sungai Kandis (Aug 4, 2018), Balakong and Seri Setia (jointly held on Sept 8, 2018). – The Star