Civil Engineer Zaki Made Penang Deputy CM 1

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

DAP’s Perai assemblyman P Ramasamy will remain the state’s deputy chief minister II for a third term.

Civil engineer Ahmad Zakiyuddin Ahmad Rahman was proclaimed Penang’s deputy chief minister I at the swearing-in of the state executive councillors yesterday.

The 60-year-old first-term Pinang Tunggal assemblyman, from PKR, will hold the portfolios of Islamic affairs, industrial development and community relations.

Zakiyuddin is said to be the first Penang deputy chief minister from Kepala Batas.

He won the Pinang Tunggal seat in his second try since the 2013 general election, garnering a 127-vote majority in the May 9 polls.

He replaced PKR’s Mohd Rashid Hasnon, who was fielded in the Batu Pahat parliamentary seat in Johor.

DAP’s Perai assemblyman P Ramasamy will remain the state’s deputy chief minister II for the third term since 2008.

He will hold the same portfolios as before: economic planning, education, human capital development, and science, technology and innovation.

As for Chief Minister Chow Kon Yeow, he will assume the land matters and land development, transport and information portfolios.

Chow’s three portfolios mark a sharp drop from the number of portfolios of his predecessor, Lim Guan Eng, who held five during his time in office.

The biggest rise among the senior excos was that of Jagdeep Singh Deo, who was bestowed the local government portfolio.

The portfolio covers the matters of the two local governments in the state – the Penang Island City Council and Seberang Perai Municipal Council.

Former Bukit Bendera MP Zairil Khir Johari has been put in charge of flood mitigation, taking over the portfolio from Chow. Zairil will also be in charge of public works and utilities.

Of the 10 exco members excluding the chief minister, seven are from DAP and three from PKR.

New faces:

  • Zairil Khir Johari (DAP-Tanjong Bungah)

He replaces DAP’s Lim Hock Seng, who did not contest.

The former Bukit Bendera MP will assume the portfolios of public works; utilities; and flood mitigation.

  • Abdul Halim Hussain (PKR-Batu Maung)

He replaces PKR’s Abdul Malik Abul Kassim, who did not contest.

The former Penang state assembly speaker (2008-2013) will take on domestic and international trade, consumer affairs and entrepreneurial development.

  • Yeoh Soon Hin (DAP-Paya Terubong)

He replaces DAP’s Danny Law Heng Kiang, who did not contest.

The three-term assemblyman will handle tourism development and heritage, and the arts and culture committee.

  • Soon Lip Chee (DAP-Bagan Jermal)

The former Jawi assemblyman will take on the youth and sports portfolio.

Second-term excos with new portfolios:

  • Chong Eng (DAP-Bagan Lalang): Women and family development, gender inclusiveness, and non-Muslim religious matters.
  • Jagdeep Singh Deo (DAP-Dato Keramat): Local government, housing, and town and country planning.

Second-term exco members holding same portfolios

  • Phee Boon Poh (DAP-Sungai Puyu): Welfare, caring society and environment.
  • Dr Afif Bahardin (PKR-Seberang Jaya): Health, agriculture and agro-based industries, and rural development.