DAP to contest 15 state seats in Selangor

- Advertisement - [resads_adspot id="2"]

DAP is fielding 15 candidates in Selangor for the coming state election on Aug 12.

Announcing this, DAP secretary-general Anthony Loke said nine incumbents will be defending their constituencies, including Sekinchan’s Ng Suee Lim, who is also Selangor State Legislative Assembly speaker.

The others are Lee Kee Hiong (Kuala Kubu Baru), Ng Sze Han (Kinrara), Michelle Ng Mei Sze (Subang Jaya), Rajiv Rishyakaran (Bukit Gasing), Lim Yi Wei (Kampung Tunku), Jamaliah Jamaluddin (Bandar Utama) and Leong Tuck Chee (Pandamaran).

Ahmad Zamzahuri

Wong Siew Ki, who is the incumbent for Balakong, is now set to contest in Seri Kembangan.

She will be replaced by Ong Chun Wei for the Balakong seat.

The six new faces are Yew Jia Haur (Teratai), Quah Perng Fei (Bandar Baru Klang), Preakas Sampunathan (Kota Kemuning), Papparaidu Veraman (Banting) and Lwi Kian Keong (Sungai Pelek).

Incumbents who have made way for newcomers to stand included some of the party’s veterans like Datuk Teng Chang Kim, Lau Weng San and Ean Yong Hian Wah.

Teng, a former Speaker of the Selangor State Legislature, has announced his retirement. As for Lau, the incumbent for Banting, Loke said he would propose that he be made the new Speaker if the PH-Barisan Nasional alliance wins, as a compromise for giving one of the party’s traditional seats — Dusun Tua — to Barisan Nasional

“When we were asked to make way in Dusun Tua, we agreed on the condition that we would be allowed to propose the nomination of a non-elected rep for the role of Speaker, and that person is Lau Weng San,” he said.

DAP would also propose that Ean Yong be made chairman of the Port Klang Board, Loke said. – NST